Orange House Books


My Poems


The American Southwest

The American South Central

Eighteenth Century England and Scotland

The oilfield

Other literature


American Dialect

Cowboy Dialect in Print


Our Writing Workshops


Other Subjects

nature art, travel, teaching, parenting, grandparenting husbanding

teaching, parenting, grandparenting husbanding


In addition to the two guidebooks on writing style which Orange House Books has published in 2008, we published the first of our histories of oilfield fiction —A Cavalcade of Oilfield Novels. These histories are modeled on those of Edward Wagenknecht, who traced the development of the novels of England and America in his series. The first of the four books about oilfield novels, Fountain Wells, is still available at online bookstores, for example Amazon.

Now we have published the second in the series, Gushers. We have also published the first of our poetry collections, Trotting With the Fox.


Home of Dick Heaberlin Writes

Orange House Books

A Cavalcade of Oilfield Novels

Fountain Wells: Oilfield Novels of Ontario, Pennsylvania, Ohio, and West Virginia

Gushers: Oilfield Novels of Texas

Poetry Collections

Trotting With the Fox

My Writing Guides

English Syntax:
A Guide to the Grammar of Successful Writers

Writing Style 1

Connecting for Coherence:
A Guide to Building Sentences With Syntax And Logic

Writing Style 2

Purposeful Punctuation:
A Syntactic Guide to English Punctuation

Writing Style 3

Word Wisdom:
A Guide to Selecting Words
for Writers and Editors—Writing Style 4

Other Books of Interest

Other Sites of Interest

Dick Heaberlin's Website
at Texas State University

Center for the Study of the Southwest
at Texas State University

Southwest Regional Humanities Center at Texas State University
Email Orange House Books